Flash v8 fimware to Wemos?

More
4 months 4 weeks ago #12959 by limnidytis
Hello, a few months ago, i purchased a 4 tube wemos clock for in2 tubes from you. I have been slowly working my way through building the clock. However, lately i became concerned that perhaps the Wemos was not functioning correctly. I downloaded a blink] sketch via the Arduino IDE, and the board can blink the onboard LED.

I am now attempting to re-flash the Wemos board with v8 firmware, and am lost as to how to make it work. I have limited experience with terminal or command line work.

any guidance would be appreciated,

Johnny

I am using a Mac os 12.1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 4 weeks ago #12960 by Ty_Eeberfest
I really should make a sticky thread about this. It's been discussed many times but the info is fragmented across multiple thread to the point it's impossible to find a complete procedure. Anyhow...

As you have discovered, the Arduino IDE is rendered useless when you don't have the source code. What you need is a "flasher" utility. The one I like is PyFlasher, it's simple and standalone, and there is even a MacOS version.

github.com/marcelstoer/nodemcu-pyflasher/releases

Nevermind that it talks about NodeMCU. A NodeMCU and a Wemos are (for this purpose) the same.

I don't do Apple so I'm not really up on how the Mac file system is organized, how it handles zip files, how it names ports, and so on. I trust you know these things.

1) Get and install the PyFlasher from the above link.

2) If you haven't already, get the V.8 firmware here:
www.nixieclock.biz/Downloads/4-Digit-ESP-Firmware-V8.zip
Save it and unzip the .bin file to a place you can easily find it again.

3) Remove the Wemos from the clock and connect it to the computer via USB.

4) Run the PyFlasher. Use these settings:
- Serial Port: the port the Wemos is on (prob something like /dev/usbserial, maybe)
- Baud Rate: leave at default. If that doesn't work try 115200.