Nixie Clock Build GN-4, Proximity Sensor, GPS & Dekatron

More
9 months 3 weeks ago #10604 by mclegg
Hi Everyone
I am new to all this Nixie stuff, but really want to build a clock, and Im sure this will not be the first post of someone who has said this!
I have about 10x GN-4 Nixies and want to build an hour/min/sec 6 digit clock.
To help prevent the Nixies burning out, I want to have it so its only on when it detects either movement or ultrasound or something to say its worth turning on.
I also need to it be accurate, I've read all sorts of stories about them losing a lot of time. So someway to keep it accurate, GPS?
I would also like to implement a single dekatron (model as yet unknown) to go around once a second. Whether this triggers the rest of the clock I am unsure.

I know the very very basics about electronics, but I'm keen to learn. I don't know if a circuit needs to be built specifically for this type of Nixie, or these Nixies may work with other circuits all ready designed?

There are also the Ardunio units that run everything, but I'm not sure on these? Would a dedicated IC be better? Any suggestions are welcome, and if anyone has any resources they can share, or ideas I'm more than happy to listen.

Cheers,
Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 months 3 weeks ago #10605 by Ty_Eeberfest
GN-4 is pretty uncommon but when it comes to controlling them they're no different than many (most) other Nixies. I couldn't find a full data sheet for them but I was at least able to determine they're not biquinary.

"Very very basics" means different things to different people. But since you saw fit to point it out I'm going to assume your experience is very minimal. In which case I suggest you build a kit rather than trying to design and build from scratch. It's the easiest, not to mention cheapest, way to get yourself a working clock.