Need help with the "All-In-One" Arduino Nixie Clock - Wifi kit

More
2 months 1 week ago #10989 by PJ
I am a total newbie when it comes to the world of electronics, so please be patient with me.

After a few days of tinkering I managed to get to the stage seen in the picture, but there are a lot of questions that I don't know the answer to:

1. Is it correct to connect Vin to Com using a 1k resistor?

2. For C4 there was no second 220uf / 35V capacitor. Instead a 220uf / 10V was left over at the end, is it correct to think that the wrong part was delivered by accident?

3. The whole Wi-Fi section is different than shown in the manual, including components used, besides the resistors and the 2x4 connection. Is there an updated version that I have overlooked?

4. I was thinking of using 2 9V batteries in parallel as a power source, would that be enough or is a standard power supply the way to go?

5. I’m still a long way off, but how would I connect the Wi-Fi module to well "the Wi-Fi"?

Thanks for any help in advance!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 months 1 week ago #10990 by Ty_Eeberfest
This forum is moderated - posts may take some time to appear, so please don't double post. Thanks.

PJ wrote: 1. Is it correct to connect Vin to Com using a 1k resistor?

Certainly doesn't sound right. Give me some idea of what you are looking at that seems like it's saying to do that.

PJ wrote: 2. For C4 there was no second 220uf / 35V capacitor. Instead a 220uf / 10V was left over at the end, is it correct to think that the wrong part was delivered by accident?

C4 never sees anything over +5 volts so a 10V cap is fine. There's always a chance of some minor parts substitutions like this due to availability issues.

PJ wrote: 3. The whole Wi-Fi section is different than shown in the manual, including components used, besides the resistors and the 2x4 connection. Is there an updated version that I have overlooked?