On/Off Switch

More
9 months 2 weeks ago #10617 by Gq
On/Off Switch was created by Gq
Hello, nixie lovers

Newbie here, just finished building my first nixie clock -- check this beauty out:

I replaced the original ESP-01 with a Wemos D1 Mini since I wanted to play around with the firmware and I know how difficult it is to flash the ESP-01. First thing I want to do is be able to blank the tubes/LEDs on command using the web server. I looked at the code and it seems I could set 'blanked = true' and 'blankMode = BLANK_MODE_BOTH' and then call what procedure? Please pardon my ignorance if that is so simplistic. I'm obviously not an expert.

Also, I would be grateful for any pointers on what part of the code I should be looking at to be able to push data (for example, external temperature reading) into the display using the Wemos I2C.

Thanks.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 months 2 weeks ago #10621 by Ian
Replied by Ian on topic On/Off Switch
For the blanking, there is an easy way and a right way... ;)

The easy way is to use the configuration URL directly to switch between "Never Blank" (option 0) and "Blank always" (option 3) like this:

http://192.168.1.64/clockconfig?dayBlanking=0

or

http://192.168.1.64/clockconfig?dayBlanking=3

The right way is to expand the I2C protocol to allow a blanking command to override the internal blanking value. To do thiis you'll need to work yourself into the protocol and define new verbs for "BLANK ON" and BLANK OFF". They are not too hard to implmenent, but you'll need to update the Atmel code and the Wemos code. It's not hard, but it is involved.

For pushing data, there is already a way to do that on Nixiefirmware V2, but not so far on the V1, using /setvalue. If you have a look at lines 1193 onwards in this file:

bitbucket.org/isparkes/nixiefirmwarev2/s...eProviderESP8266.ino

you can see the way it was done. You could backport that to V1 with not too much effort.

More