Manufacturing affordable large, new nixie tubes

More
1 year 5 months ago - 1 year 5 months ago #7600 by aidenkoh
I'm a product engineer taking on a new project.
With current manufacturing methods, I'm able to manufacture In-18/Z568M inspired nixie tubes, at a fraction of their market costs (sub 25 USD/pc). I don't compromise on quality. It will be built with parts mostly sourced from the US, and have the quality management system ISO-certified.

However, due to overhead costs, such a price is only available if the minimum demand for said tubes is reached. Hence I can only commence with the project when I know that there is enough interest.

What are your thoughts? Would it interest you if such tubes exist? show your support, and large, affordable nixie tubes may finally be within our grasp!
Last Edit: 1 year 5 months ago by aidenkoh.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 5 months ago #7614 by Ian
Hi, that sounds REALLY interesing.

I can tell you that the interest is there, especially for larger format tubes.

What is the minimum run that you need to do?

Thought of Kickstarting it?

Regards

Ian
The following user(s) said Thank You: aidenkoh

More
1 year 5 months ago #7620 by aidenkoh
After much consideration, I realized that this approach is unfeasible:( thank you for your interest though!

More
1 year 5 months ago #7621 by Ty_Eeberfest
I must have missed this topic earlier. I see you have decided not to pursue your project after all. Just in case you change your mind, my opinion is this...

Definitely would be interested in newly manufactured tubes, especially if you could provide some assurance of longevity, e.g. accelerated aging test results.