Help with vintage Nixie Tube Clock

More
1 year 11 months ago #7356 by NixieDave
My dad designed and built this Nixie Tube clock in early 1970. The tubes do light up, but several numbers light up at the same time and it doesn't cycle. I'm not sure if the tubes are getting too much power, or if the logic circuits are faulty. There are a couple of wires disconnected, but I'm not sure where they should connect to. I've tried to read the schematics he wrote, but I'm having a hard time learning it. He was an electrical engineer, I'm a banker. So, I'm a little lost! Help! I'm still learning how to use a volt meter, but again, not sure where to start. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 11 months ago #7357 by Ian
Hi Dave, that looks like a decent piece of vintage electronics you have there. Nicely laid out and very clean (in the design sense, not the detergent sense).

When you say that multiple digits turn on, are they always the same digits, and do they turn on fully, or just "ghost"? Perhaps a short video would help. While a picture is worth a thousand words, a video is worth a thousand pictures for troubleshooting... :lol:

The schematic is not hard, it's a fairly simple but totally functional set up. The fact that the digits don't move is most likely that the "1PPS" line is disconnected somewhere, or that the drive to it (from the "LFO" page - there is a divider to change down from 60Hz mains input and a separate oscillator, with a switch to choose which one to use) has come unstuck.

If you have a basic amount of test gear, we can get this working...

More
1 year 11 months ago #7362 by NixieDave
Hi Ian! Thanks for the reply. I've made a couple of videos. But then something strange happened. This first video is the second time I've plugged it in.

drive.google.com/open?id=0B62jwKKNicnvZ00zcFhZcnVQVmc