ESP8266 ESP-12E NodeMcu Module ?

More
6 months 6 days ago #7865 by Froula
Hi, Ian,

After completing my Arduino clock build, I became curious about using the WIFI module option in place of the DS3231 RTC board. I have never used an ESP8266 before, but did a bit investigating and decided to purchase this model, an ESP-12E NodeMCU clone. From what I have read, all of the boards use the same ESP8266 chip, with differences in the IO lines that are broken out, integrated USB<>serial interface for programming and 5>3.3 volt regulator options, as well as memory variations. This module has a built-in 3.3 voltage regulator and USB port for easy Arduino programming, plus loads of IO lines broken out for experimentation. It is probably overkill for this application, but still quite cheap.

ESP8266 ESP-12E NodeMCU module from Amazon

I also bough a few inexpensive logic level shifter boards that each have 4 bidirectional channels. I believe the bidirectional feature is needed for I2C, unlike the SPI interface, where I have used simple diode/pullup level conversion in the past.

Bidirectional logic level converter

Looking through the latest 1.04 code for the ESP8266, I think this module will work with a few simple changes:

- This module has its LED at pin 2 instead of pin 0, so I think I would need to change "#define blueLedPin 1" to "#define blueLedPin 2".

- I believe almost any pins can be defined as the I2C SDA and SCL pins, as they are bit-banged. The current code has "Wire.begin(0, 2); // SDA = 0, SCL = 2", which I think sets up the I2C pins. Because of the change in the builtin LED pin, I believe I would need to change the SCL pin to another, perhaps " "Wire.begin(0, 1); // SDA = 0, SCL = 1"?

- The board definitions in the Arduino for this board allow setting up the flash size and split at "4M (3M SPIFFS)" or "4M (1M SPIFFS)". Should either work?

- I can also set the clock speed, which I see in the code comments should be 80MHz.